Recently, WhatsApp has been focused on enhancing privacy. The messaging platform revealed a new version this week that includes a few new features in the WhatsApp app, including the ability to erase messages after sending them, the choice to prevent pictures of photographs, and more.
Many people who want to keep private chats private have long chosen WhatsApp as their preferred messaging service. Only you and the intended recipients are able to view sent messages thanks to end-to-end encryption used by the app.
WhatsApp announced is introducing a few new features that should strengthen privacy a little bit more in order to increase that layer of security. The addition of screenshot blocking for View Once messages is arguably the most significant and exciting update. Temporary messages containing images known as “View Once” messages prevent the recipient from viewing the image again.
In WhatsApp, screenshot attempts are physically blacked out, and a message stating that screenshots are prohibited for increased privacy is displayed. Users would greatly benefit from this functionality because View Once messages are useless if others can simply screenshot the image and view it as much as they like.
In addition to limiting screenshots, WhatsApp is now testing the option to control who can see your online status. You may now select who can see your activity, enabling you to log into the app discreetly without others being aware of it. Users can pick between contacts, everyone, or nobody using this recently discovered feature. Additionally, you have the option of selecting a blacklist of contacts from which to hide your status.
Users will also have the option of secretly leaving groups as an addition. Only the group admins will be able to notice that you have left the chat rather than notifying everyone. This will make it much simpler to end conversations without running the danger of receiving too many inquiries from other people.
In order to disclose the final update, which involves deleting texts, WhatsApp turned to Twitter. After sending a message, users will now have up to two days and twelve hours to erase it (via WABetaInfo ). Messages might initially be deleted solely for the user, leaving the message legible for the receiver or the rest of the group. You now have a little window of opportunity to remove those messages from everyone’s inbox.
Although WhatsApp hasn’t said when these functionality and privacy upgrades will go live, it’s probable that some users will get access to the functions rather soon. We sincerely anticipate the release of WhatsApp’s screenshot-blocking feature for View Once messages and hope that it happens as soon as possible.